Sunday 7 October, 7.30pm
(Approx running time: 90 mins, with interval)

£25 / £18

Under 16s can get free tickets for the Festival

Festival Pass – Priority Booking and a 15% discount

Conductor Harry Christophers

The Eton Choirbook Legacy

Nesciens mater
Nesciens Mater (from the Eton Choirbook)

James MacMillan
O virgo prudentissima (New Commission)

Ave Maria, Mater Dei (from the Eton Choirbook)

Phillip Cooke
Ave Maria, Mater Dei (New Commission)

Faire is the heaven

Bring us O Lord God

Joseph Phibbs
Nesciens Mater (New Commission) 

Stella caeli (from the Eton Choirbook)

Marco Galvani
Stella caeli (New Commission) 

Salve Regina (from the Eton Choirbook)

credit Arnaud Stephenson (3).jpg

The very first concert at The Cumnock Tryst was given by The Sixteen, one of the great choirs of the world. They return to close our landmark fifth Festival at Trinity Church. Festival Director James MacMillan has built up a strong fruitful relationship with the choir and its director Harry Christophers and John Studzinski’s Genesis Foundation, which supports The Sixteen and The Tryst. Their most recent project involves the performance of some early English music from the Eton Choir Book and some new commissions, inspired by this glorious music. Combining the 15th-century sounds of Lambe and Cornysh with the very 21st-century sounds of James MacMillan, Phillip Cooke, Joseph Phibbs and Marco Galvani, this promises to be a finale of unique beauty. Trinity Church provides the perfect atmospheric venue for the return of The Sixteen to Cumnock. This is the first time the Tryst has presented a concert in the town on the final evening of the Festival.

John Studzinski and his Genesis Foundation have been great friends to The Tryst since the start, and it is entirely apt that The Sixteen
is back in Cumnock to bring our fifth year celebrations to a close. The combination of the very ancient with the brand new is a hallmark of Harry Christophers’ programming, and Cumnock audiences will thrill to the Eton Choirbook material alongside the new music that has been commissioned specially.
— Sir James MacMillan